Under New Hampshire Law, abuse of a child under the age of 18 must be reported to the New Hampshire Division for Children, Youth, and Families.
- For confidential and emotional support, please call our 24-hour hotline 1-603-994-SAFE (7233) to speak with an advocate to discuss options available to you and your child.
- If you are asked to bring your child to the Child Advocacy Center, an advocate will be there to provide confidential support to you and your child.
- Advocates can also provide information on walk-in services and support groups.
When a child discloses sexual abuse it is important to respond in a way that is supportive. Please consider the following responses:
- I believe you.
- I am so sorry that this happened.
- I am so glad that you told me.
- You did the right thing to tell someone.
- It was not your fault.
- Sexual assault is against the law.
- We will get through this.
- I do not know the answer, but I will try to find it for you.
- I will do my best to protect you.
What are my options?
- If you would like to talk to someone, please call our 24-hour confidential hotline 1-603-994-SAFE (7233).
- Our advocates can provide emotional support as well as local information and options in the event that you would like to pursue legal action against the perpetrator.
- Walk-in services are available as well as advocates can accompany you to the police station and courts. Please call our hotline to request an advocate or click here for walk-in hours.
- Support groups are available for childhood survivors. Please call the hotline or click here to learn more about our support groups including Trauma Sensitive Yoga.
- Please note our hotline is also available to the survivor’s partner and family members.
- You do not have to be in crisis to call.
- If you feel unsafe or if you are in immediate danger call 9-1-1
- If you are in a safe location, please call our 24-hour confidential hotline 1-603-994-7233.
- In the event of sexual assault, you have the option to go to the hospital. Deciding to seek medical attention after a sexual assault at the hospital does not mean you have to report the crime. Exams can be done on an anonymous basis. However, if you are under age 18, medical staff must report the assault to the police. If you think you may want evidence to be collected try not to bathe or use any feminine cleansing products. Any clothes worn during the time can be placed in a paper bag and brought with you for evidence collection. (You may also bring a change of clothes with you if you are not able to change.)
- If you are physically ok to go to the hospital please go to nearest hospital emergency room or police station. At the hospital, a trained medical professional can assess for injuries, STD’s and pregnancy. Learn more about the hospital exam.
- You may request an advocate to accompany you for confidential and emotional support. Advocate services are available regardless of whether or not you decide to report.
- You will not be charged for a hospital examination. If you do not have insurance, or you decide not to report the assault to law enforcement, the NH Attorney General’s office will cover the cost of the exam. You will not be billed for anything above the insurance coverage limit.